Home > NMAFC News > Congratulations Hien!

Hien served as one of NMAFC’s best volunteer and one of the leaders on our community events.. Her passion, hardworking and dedication is the footstone of our successful events.┬áThank you Hien, and again, congratulations!

News from UNM Newsroom:

The Office of the President recently announced the 2013 Sarah Belle Brown Community Service Award winners. This year’s recipients include faculty award winner Jennifer Nez Denetdale, scholar-activist; staff award winner Lawrence Roybal, executive director, ENLACE; and student award winner Hien Tran, graduate student, Nursing.

These awards have been generously endowed by Doug and Sarah Brown to recognize the volunteer service work done by members of the UNM community for the greater good. The faculty and staff recipients each receive $2,000, while the student recipient receives a $1,000 scholarship.

Tran volunteers as a mentor at an after school program at Whittier Elementary School, where she helps shape the next generation with excitement and enthusiasm. She is a leader that understands through personal experience the obstacles to success faced by the young students she works with.